OODT: Writer’s Night Out

I’ve lived in Reno for about 18 months, and for the first time in my life I have a group of writer friends. They are fabulous and I feel so lucky to have found a place in such a great community of talented people. We get together once or twice a month for writer’s night out. That mostly means margaritas, a good dinner, and talking about books. Perfection.

Tonight is the first Writer’s Night Out of 2013. Here’s what I’m wearing:

1213-5

Jeans: Thrifted, Lee, size 26, $8
Sweater: Thrifted, vintage, Men’s 2X, $5
Tank: Target, size 4, $10
Shoes: Payless, coupon + sale, size 12, $13
Necklace: Thrifted vintage, $5
Total for outfit, including shoes: $41

 

1213-6

Softest, most comfy shoes ever.

Couple of things. One, I love to check out the men’s sweater rack at thrift stores. Some of the vintage ones are really cool. I’ve even found cashmere. And because I’m tall and have long arms, they often fit me really well. Two, I love my necklace. I almost never wear jewelry, but I want to get over that. I found this necklace at Savers for something like a dollar fifty. It’s made of big wooden beads and has the coolest turquoise front clasp with a little heart charm. At least, I think it’s supposed to clasp in the front. I can’t imagine hiding that beautiful enameled part in the back. Shorter necklaces almost never fit me, so I was super stoked when this one fit perfectly. It’s so pretty.

1213-3

Lastly, I want to put it out there that this was really hard for me. My goal for 2013 is to get more comfortable in front of the camera. It’s not going to be easy. I have a bad habit of only seeing my flaws. The way my hands turn backward when I hold them at my sides. Whatever. This is me. This is what I wore.

Oh, I guess one more lastly lastly: I’m going to have to work with my hubby on learning how to take a decent picture! Like one without cars in the background. At least he didn’t get the pole growing out of the top of my head! We’ll pull it together eventually.

Leave a Reply

