Putting it Together (5)

Putting it Together is a weekly feature. Every Monday, I’ll find an straight-sized outfit, analyze why it works for me, then put it together in a plus size with some ideas about making it affordable. The “My Shopping List” page has a list of items that I’m hunting for and links to every PiT post.

Have a outfit in mind you’d like me to put together? Email it to me at circoluma@gmail.com.

* * *

I found this week’s inspiration photo on the Anthropologie website. I like to look at the site–mostly–but it also makes me sad sometimes because A) nothing there will fit me and B) I can’t afford any of it anyway.

So, let’s see what we can do about that, shall we?

26568220_035_b

What do I really love about this outfit? I like the way the minty green of the skirt and the acid-y yellow of the cardigan almost match, but not quite. I like the vintage feel of the cardigan. And I love the prim little blouse under it all. I really love how it doesn’t quite match, in texture and pattern and color, but it still all works together.

PicMonkey CollageI know what you’re thinking. The pieces I picked don’t have anything to do with the inspiration photograph. But hear me out. Here are a few things that came up when I was sourcing this outfit.

1. There are far fewer clothing items available in plus sizes than there are for straight sizes. I could have had my pick of half a dozen mint skirts or yellow lace sweaters if I’d been okay with the sizes stopping at 14 or maybe 16. But that doesn’t work for me. The lack of choice in plus-size fashion isn’t a revelation, I know, but this outfit gave me the chance to talk about it here.

2. I like brighter colors.

So, anyway, I had to take the spirit of the outfit this time, rather than matching it precisely. I looked for a skirt and a lacy sweater that almost matched, but not quite (I thought the red-orange and mustard yellow were similar in the same way the acid yellow and mint green were in the inspiration photo.)

I really wanted a lacey sweater for this outfit. I think it’s important to the over all look.

168-1448-3064-80-yyyThis one comes from Nue Options and is on sale right now for $27.99. I’m really drawn to the color (although I would have been happy to find a yellow one, too.)

CL0025768VI could not, no matter how hard I looked, find a pencil skirt in mint green that came in plus sizes. Or one in any pastel shade, for that matter. I did find a few, but this outfit needs a skirt with structure, since it has a blouse with structure. I could have found a pastel flowy skirt, but it wouldn’t have looked right at all. I love this skirt from eShakti. It’s got a great 50s vibe, which jives well with the lacy sweater, don’t you think? And I think the big stripes with the small pattern on the top are great together. It costs $72.95, but eShakti has regular sales of up to 30 percent off.

CL0025796VThe top I picked is from eShakti as well. It’s covered in little swans. I really love the way it goes with the skirt, that mis-matchy way that I loved about the original outfit. It costs $59.95, and again eShakti has regular very good sales. Also, watch their overstock link, you never know what might come up in your size.

The original photo didn’t show shoes, but I think I’d just do some black or maybe gold ballet flats with this outfit.

I’m adding a lacy, retro or vintage cardigan to my shopping list. I think it would look adorable over any tiny-print blouse, even just with jeans or a skirt I already have. So, a tiny-print blouse is going on my list as well.

Leave a Reply

