DIY: Mason Jar Canisters

I’ve mentioned before that I don’t own canisters. I mostly store dry goods in plastic bags. For the first time in what feels like forever, I have a kitchen with enough space to store things in a more attractive, more efficient way. I’ve been searching for canisters that I can fall in love with.

I love old-school Tupperware sets like this:

But, I’ve never found them in my thrifting adventures and they’re too rich for my blood on Etsy or eBay. Also, I struggle with buying used Tupperware without getting my hands . . . or rather my nose . . . on them, because sometimes it has that weird old Tupperware smell that you can’t get rid of.

I also love these:

Atomic Kitchen Canisters // 50s Turquoise Coffee Containers // Vintage Lincoln BeautyWare Canisters

And these:

Really, there are any number of mod, mid-century canister sets that I’d be happy with. I just need to keep looking. I’m confident it will come to me. Meanwhile, I made these this weekend:

It was super easy. I bought a 12 pack of quart-sized, wide-mouthed mason jars for about $8 and a can of spray chalkboard paint for $6. It took roughly two minutes to give the inner lids a two coats. It takes 24 hours for the paint to cure completely.

DSC_0142

Then the next day I used the side of a piece of chalk to color all over the lid, then wiped them clean. This primes the chalkboard. I think if you don’t do this, it’s harder to erase the words you write in chalk later. I’m not too, too worried, because whatever I put in the jars is stuff I always need to store. I don’t think I’ll be changing the names too often.

I had to break a piece of chalk in half for this part, and the sharp edges took off some of the paint. I recommend blunting the edges by rubbing the chalk on a piece of cardboard.

DSC_0143

All that was left was to fill them up and write the contents on the lids.

DSC_0148

Don’t they look lovely on my bar? I think they do, but I will probably end up putting them somewhere else. I’m worried about steam from the sink and the dishwasher (just next to the sink) doing damage to my dry goods. But, for now I can enjoy these while I wait (mostly) patiently for that perfect set of mid-century canisters to come into my life.

DSC_0147

Total cost was $14, plus I have most of a can of paint left. A box of chalk set me back 50 cents. This project works best if you buy your dry goods in bulk and can control how much you get. My popcorn, for instance, was bought in a bag that held just a little more than a quart, so I’m stuck storing most in the jar and a tiny bit in a bag anyway.

* * *

Shared at Project Inspire, Sew Many Ways, Think Pink, Mod Mix Monday, Works for me Wednesday, Wow Us Wednesday,

2 thoughts on “DIY: Mason Jar Canisters

  1. Someone else who loves old style canisters! I do, too!!!! I have an old metal set I found at a thrift store, but I don’t use them in my kitchen. No room. I keep some sewing notions in them in my sewing room.
    I also use mason jars for counter top storage since they are pretty. I recently added a super size one to hold drinking straws!
    My daughter just took a bunch of canning jars to organize her cupboards. I am sending her this links since your chalk tops are cute!

Leave a Reply

