Putting it Together (6)

Putting it Together is a weekly feature. Every Monday, I’ll find an straight-sized outfit, analyze why it works for me, then put it together in plus sizes with some ideas about making it affordable. The “My Shopping List” page has a list of items that I’m hunting for and links to every PiT post.

Have a outfit in mind you’d like me to put together? Email it to me at circoluma@gmail.com.

* * *

I found this week’s inspiration photo on Mod Cloth’s style page. I love the sort of nautical style, and I always love stripes with bright colors. It’s so cheerful and pretty.

img_462w_6288405be6dcHere’s how I put it together for fat girls:

PicMonkey Collage

As soon as I saw the inspiration photo, I knew I wanted to put it together. If you’ve seen my other PiT posts, you know I’m all about the mis-matchiness. I loved the navy/white/purple combo. I don’t do hats much, so I skipped that part.

CL0026187PThis is one of my favorite dresses on the eShakti site right now. I love the stripes so much, especially the way they chevron on the bodice. It comes with a green belt. If you wanted to, you could switch it out for something pastel and match it to a knit hat, but I like kelly green, so I probably wouldn’t change it. It’s $64.95, full price. If you’re a new customer, you can get a $25 gift certificate by signing up for emails. Also, eShakti consistently has good sales if you keep your eye out for them.

cn5492186This white boyfriend cardi is on sale for $16.97 at Old Navy right now. I’d probably order it in a size down, because I like my cardigans to be fitted through the arms.

0322_33202_mc_0327Pretty silver tights on sale at Avenue for less than $6!

rc_151776_X0I love these sparkly purple flats from Lane Bryant. They’re on clearance for $20.96, and they come in wide width.

0360_05067_mc_2555Avenue has this cute purple bag for $19.99. I like the silver accents.

If you went out and bought all of these things new and at the prices listed, you’d spend $130, plus shipping.

As always, the easiest place to save is with the purse. Thrift stores routinely have a wide variety, and if you keep looking eventually you’ll be able to find the perfect purple purse for $10 or less. You might be able to pick up a pair of purple flats that way, too. Especially if you don’t have size 12 feet, like me.

I’ll be adding “striped dress” to my thrift shopping list.

Leave a Reply

