How To Be a Fat Bitch: Week Three

Rachele at The Nearsighted Owl is hosting a year-long eCourse called How to Be a Fat Bitch. She posts a short vlog, an assignment, and some discussion questions. I’ll be posting here on Wednesdays about the assignment and questions. Come join in the fun!

* * *

Week Three Assignment:

Challenge yourself to wear something that you might have felt weary about in the past. Break up your routine with something different and you might open yourself up to some radical new styles! 

My fashion strategy, for many years, has been to wear whatever clothes fit and are comfortable. I have some strange claustrophobia issues, so I can’t stand to wear anything that feels confining. Or, at least, I’m not used to wearing them so they feel weird and feeling weird is distracting to me. I wear jeans and t-shirts or sweaters almost everyday.

Confession: on days when I don’t leave the house, sometimes I just stay in my pajamas. I work from home, so sometimes that happens for two or three days in a row.

That doesn’t sound so bad on the surface. It kind of is, though, because bottom line, the way I dress (sometimes) is reflective of some residual self-loathing. I don’t want to look at myself in the mirror, or think about how I look long enough to pick out a cute outfit. Or I don’t want to spend money on nice clothes, because some part of me doesn’t believe that I deserve them. Sometimes I actually feel weird if I’m dressed up, like I’m making a spectacle of myself. Like, wearing a dress to the grocery store sometimes feels equivalent to wearing a Halloween costume out in public. In February.

Working on self-acceptance over the last couple of years has really made a difference in the way I feel about myself. As a result, the gap between how I feel inside and how I present myself to the world has changed. I have a goal for 2013 to build a wardrobe I love, and I’ve already made strides toward that. One part of that goal is to wear dresses more often. I love dresses. I’m not acclimated to them, but I’m working on it. Part of working on it means buying a few.

eShakti had a sale this week where you got a $20 gift certificate, and then another one when you used the first, and so on, plus $5 shipping. I spent about $100 and bought four things from their overstock (already 40 percent off) that really made me happy, and are definitely pieces that I would have hesitated about (or not even thought about in the first place), not too long ago.

http://www.eshakti.com/clothImages/Birds on wires tie-front topV.jpg

http://www.eshakti.com/clothImages/Her fifties colorblock skirtV.jpg

Week Three Discussion:

Do you have some fatshion tips to share? Please do!

1. Clean out your closet. First of all, you might have things you forgot about in there, and it will be like Christmas. Second, and most important, get rid of anything that doesn’t fit. Don’t hold on to it for that magical day when you lose weight. Your closet should be filled with only clothes that fit you and that you love.

2. Hit the thrift stores, and hit them often if you’re trying to build your wardrobe. Learn when your local stores have sales. Also, know how much you’re willing to spend on things. For instance, I can’t remember the last time I spent more than $10 on jeans, but dresses are harder to find so I’ll spend up to about $40 on one new (on sale) if I’m really in love with it. That’s my budget.

3. Break the rules. It’s okay to wear bright colors or small patterns or horizontal stripes. I promise.

4. Buy clothes that fit really well. Sometimes that means buying a bigger or smaller size than you think you wear. For instance, eShakti’s clothes are designed so that they’re smaller in the waist than most other brands that I wear a size up. I almost always take a size down in cardigans, because I like them fitted.

5. Remember that you aren’t hear to be anyone’s eye candy. Conversely, you also don’t have an inherent obligation to protect the rest of the world from seeing your big ass or wide hips or thick waist in stripes or bright colors. Dress to please yourself. Period.

One thought on “How To Be a Fat Bitch: Week Three

  1. Hey girly,
    I just love your posts. It’s hard being honest with others about how you feel about your body image and that is my focus this year as well. I have really huge boobs so I wear a lot of baggy clothes so that I won’t get tons of attention because when I do wear fitting shirts, then they are always the topic of discussion. It is so hard trying to be happy with your body, especially if society is hell bent on making us diet to make us think we can feel better about ourselves. That is why I am starting a online shop for us plus size/curvy women who don’t want to or have to second guess whether the clothes will fit or not when we get home. (A lot of clothes won’t fit over my boobs) If you are looking for some fatshion tips then read my 1st blog post. (http://beayouplus.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/spring-plus-size-trends-part-1/) I included some there. Til next time, BeaYou and be beautiful!

Leave a Reply

