Sunday Love, Done: Easy Container Magnet

I included this super easy, super sweet project from Martha in my Sunday Love number 5.

mld106684_0311_tincans_297_sq

It took me a couple of weeks, but I found a straight-sided, rectangular tea tin at Savers for 99 cents. Score! I had to use three Rare Earth, super strong magnets inside to make it stick without slipping. No glue needed, though. Just put the magnets inside the tin. They’ll stick to the tin itself, so all you have to do is put it on the fridgeDSC_0154At first I thought I wanted three, like Martha had. I’m glad I didn’t just go right onto Etsy to buy a set of three, because I’m pretty sure I’m going to stick with one. I love the way it looks, and it’s super handy, but I think one is enough.

DSC_0155Of course, now that I’ve said that, I’m sure I’ll find more tins and my whole fridge will be decorated with them. I wouldn’t mind finding one that’s a little cleaner. This one is sort of beat up, making it a little more rustic than is usually my style. I love the color, though, and the price was definitely right.

I bought these magnets, thinking I could use them for magnetic spice jars as well as this project. I wish I’d bought bigger magnets, because one wouldn’t hold this or a spice jar either. It’s possible that my fridge side just isn’t super magnetic, though. The tin stuck better on the front, but I was afraid that it would go flying every time one of my kids goes looking for a snack.

* * *

Shared at: Treasure Hunt Thursday, Hooking up with HoH, Crafty Soiree, Catch a Glimpse, Creative Juice, Doggone Dirty, The Busy Bee, Thursday Treasures, Not Baaad Sundays, Craft-O-Matic, Monday Funday, Mad Skills, Made By Little Hands, A round Tuit, Sweet Sharing Monday,

One thought on “Sunday Love, Done: Easy Container Magnet

Leave a Reply

