My Thrifting Week: 2/22/13

PicMonkey Collage

Lots of Presidents Day sales this week. So, lots of good chances to pick things up super cheap, but also tons and tons of people in the stores. Crowds aren’t my thing, but I did manage to find some pretty awesome stuff.

DSC_0136

I’m having so much fun checking out the records at the thrift stores. This week, I found Kansas, Eddie and the Cruisers Soundtrack, Endless Love Soundtrack, Little River Band, Ray Charles, The Jackson Five, Lipps Inc., Stevie Wonder, 9 to 5 Soundtrack, Sly and the Family Stone, Steve Perry, Asleep At The Wheel.

DSC_0145

I was so excited to find this Catherineholm Lotus casserole dish. So pretty!

DSC_0141

Cute straw suitcase with orange and yellow embroidery. Also, Angel popping in to say hello.

DSC_0139

Pretty, minty green wool blanket. I think I’m going to make pillows out of it.

DSC_0138

My favorite find this week! How pretty is this daisy afghan?

DSC_0137

Now I have two paint-by-number paintings. That’s a collection, right? Right.

DSC_0135

Adorable raccoon pillow kit.

DSC_0134

This is a slow cooker cookbook that someone self-published. It’s adorable. The recipes are all hand written and illustrated. Some of them have notes to the readers, obviously family and friends. Like, one for slowcooker meatloaf that has a note that it’s better in the oven, but the author wanted to get her mom’s recipe in the book.

DSC_01331950s Christmas book. Crazy cute.

DSC_0152I was so excited to find this cute cake saver, because I have plans for a cake-making project and I really wanted one! This one is mustard yellow and has a cute little atomic design on it. And it cost $1!

DSC_0153I fell in love with all three of these pretty brooches, but the seagull really captured me, and they were only 50 cents each.

DSC_0154My favorite local indie bookstore has a vinyl day once a month. It’s the only day you can shop their records, and they all cost $1.99. I picked up two U2 albums, The Police, Sting, Michael Jackson, Tina Turner, The Rolling Stones, and Tears for Fears.

DSC_0155Pretty blue, open-weave short-sleeved sweater.

DSC_0156Equally pretty long-sleeved, light-weight button up.

DSC_0158Adorable 1960s fondue plates. Love.

DSC_0150Two cute little smock aprons, perfect for my Ruby (right, with her roller-derby-girl dragon tattoo) and her bestie to wear when they’re in art mode.

DSC_0151This was a little kit. The whole thing is only about 2 inches square and it took me less than an hour to make it.

DSC_0171I fell in love with this cork board/ chalk board combo. My kids ask me what’s for dinner at least a dozen times a day. Even after I’ve already told them! Now I can just write it down and they can check for themselves! Sanity saver for $1.50? Yes, please.

* * *

Shared at: Thrifty Things Friday, The Penny Worth Project, Feathered Nest Friday, Be Inspired Friday, Strut Your Stuff Saturday, Overflowing With Creativity, Nifty Thrifty, Magpie Monday, Mod Mix Monday, Thriftasaurus, Thrift Share Monday, Vintage Thingie Thursday,

11 thoughts on “My Thrifting Week: 2/22/13

  1. Oooooo love the daisy afghan, horse pic, and raccoon pillow! This semester’s really cutting into my shopping time, but that might be a good thing… sadness.

  2. where do i begin?!?! that is one amazing haul! i think that the catherine holm piece has to be my favorite because i have never ever seen one in real life. i am so jealous of those who discover them. also, cake savers are the greatest inventions and that one is so pretty.

    • I was so excited when I found the Catherineholm casserole, too. I’ve used it a bunch of times already, and it’s AMAZING. Not only way pretty, but so much nicer to use than my old Wal-Mart casseroles.

Leave a Reply

