Blasphemous Pork Chops and Noodles

I married my high school sweetheart, way back in the time of the dinosaurs. The marriage didn’t last, but the recipes I learned from my mother-in-law did. One meal that was a part of my ex-husband’s family culture, to the point of being nearly religious, was pork chops and noodles. I wasn’t even allowed to have the recipe until after I was officially a Lamare.

Pork chops and noodles is basically pork chops braised with butter and water, and with cooked egg noodles mixed  in the resulting broth and bread crumbs stirred in to make a sort of stuffing.

Changing up the recipe is a kind of blasphemy, especially considering that I cook for two Lamare kids on a regular basis. But I’m a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants kind of girl. Plus, I wanted pork chops and noodles on a school night this week, so I needed to use my slow cooker. The result was amazing.

I give you my Blasphemous Pork Chops and Noodles.

DSC_0169

What you’ll need:

6 pork chops
1 1/2 cups liquid (I used chicken broth. I think vegetable broth, or even V8 juice would work just as well.)
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 T onion, finely chopped
Salt, pepper to taste
1 T Italian seasoning
1 t dry mustard
1/3 cup apricot preserves
Italian bread crumbs

DSC_0168

What to do:

In a bowl, mix everything but the pork chops and bread crumbs. Pour into the bowl of your slow cooker. Add the pork chops. Cook on high for four to five hours or low for eight to ten hours. About half way through the cooking time, turn the pork chops so that any part that wasn’t already submerged is.

When the pork chops are done, start cooking the egg noodles. I give them seven minutes, because they won’t be cooking with the pork chops at all. Take the meat out of the slow cooker and set aside. Strain the broth and return to the slow cooker. Remove any fat from the meat and put the chops back into the broth. Use a couple of forks to break the meat up into shreds.

When the noodles are cooked, drain them, then dump them into the slow cooker with the meat and broth. Sprinkle bread crumbs on top and mix everything together. I used about a cup of bread crumbs, and it turned out perfect. You might like more or less, so just use your judgement. Taste, and add more salt if necessary.

indexTradition calls for serving pork chops and noodles with applesauce. My kids actually stir it into their noodles. Leaving it off might have caused flat-out mutiny in my house, so I think your family might like it that way, too. Green beans is a good veggie to round out the meal.

* * *

Did you know that my first novel, a young-adult dystopian story called Viral Nation, is scheduled for release by Penguin Books on July 2, 2013? Click here to like my author Facebook page. Thank you so much for your support!

* * *

Shared at: Frugalicious Friday, Get Schooled Saturday, Frugal Friday, Feature Friday, Foodie Friday, Simply Link, Friday Favorites, Check Me Out Saturday, Show and Tell Saturday, Saturday Spotlight, Sew Darn Crafty, Scrumptous Sunday, Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Made By You Monday, Hunk of Meat MondayMealtime Monday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday,

3 thoughts on “Blasphemous Pork Chops and Noodles

  1. Your recipe doesn’t say how many noodles. I am assuming 1 whole bag, or is that too much. Also, could you use a pork roast to cook in the juice, then just use the amount of meat you wanted for this dish and save the rest for another recipe? Looks delicious!

    • Yes. I’m sorry. I’ll update the post. One whole bag. And you could definitely use pork roast or carnitas meat. Any kind of pork you can slow cook and shred.

Leave a Reply

