OOTD: Dinner and a Movie

I went to see Jack the Giant Slayer and out for Indian food with a friend on Sunday. It was a little drizzly, but felt like spring, so I was excited to wear something pretty instead of bundling up for a mountain winter.

DSC_0280

I was so excited when I saw this yellow-and-cream striped skirt show up in my size on eShakti’s overstock page for $30, shipped. I am in love with it over all, but it’s a little big for me and way, way too long. Like ankle length, instead of calf-length. You can see in this picture that it’s pulled up almost to my armpits under my top. I’m still trying to get a handle on the standard sizes there. I’ve bought 26 and it’s too small, and even a size 28 top that was too tight across the bust. This skirt is a 28 and it almost falls off me. Their customized sizes are the way to go for sure, because I feel like this was probably a return from someone who was several inches taller than me.

DSC_0278

The top is just a Kelly green cami from Kohls that cost about $7 on clearance, and the jean jacket came from Savers for $8. I love the little pin on my jacket. I got it for $1 from Salvation Army on President’s Day.

DSC_0281

The little black flats were on sale for $5 at Payless this week.

I loved this outfit, even though looking at the pictures, I’m a little shocked at how clearly visible the top of the skirt was under the cami. It wasn’t obvious when I looked at myself in the mirror. I’ll need a looser top, I guess. Also, I think maybe I can alter the skirt a little to fit me better. Take it up two stripes, maybe, and in at the waist a little.

DSC_0279* * *

Did you know that my first novel, a young-adult dystopian story called Viral Nation, is scheduled for release by Penguin Books on July 2, 2013? Click here to like my author Facebook page. Thank you so much for your support!

2 thoughts on “OOTD: Dinner and a Movie

  1. that is a great skirt – I am really liking stripes right now. But even though you are tall, I agree that the skirt could be shortened a little. love how you paired it with the jean jacket.

Leave a Reply

