My Thrifting Week: 1/18/2013

DSC_1109Okay, so, Christmas is eleven and a half months away. But it will come around again, and when it does, I’ll have this gorgeous crewel work to hang on my wall!

DSC_1115DSC_1114This is a little album full of someone’s panoramic pictures of a trip to Alaska.

DSC_1116I got so excited when I found a whole year’s worth of Scientific American: 1964. They’re beautiful and full of amazing pictures and old ads and all kinds of ephemera goodness.

DSC_1117And then I found a whole stack of Ideals magazines from 1970. Score!

DSC_1118DSC_1119DSC_1120

This is a great little book of children’s poetry from the 1940s. The poems themselves have line drawings and are adorable. Then the inscriptions just make it perfect. First, it’s inscribed to Richard on his fourth birthday, 1946, from his mother and dad. Then to Janet “because she reads so nicely”, in 1954. And finally to Melissa, with the same inscription about what a good reader she is, in 1981. Grandfather, mother, daughter? Perhaps.

DSC_1121Craft Jamboree? Who could resist that? This is a 1977 book meant to make you a jack of all trades, with a few pages about every imaginable craft.DSC_1122

I thought this might be the spiral bound book that was destined to become my book sewing box I talked about in my Sunday Love post. The cards inside are classic Martha. Super cute.

DSC_1123Here’s my favorite find of the week! A whole collection of about 50 postcards from the 1960s through the 1980s. They’re amazing, from all over the world, with great pictures. They were in a plastic bag, so I couldn’t really see what I was getting. But I gave it a shot, since they only cost $1.99. I couldn’t have been more excited once I was able to go through them. Several with James Dean on them, several with 1960s romance book covers, a whole collection with a death theme. Amazing, seriously.

DSC_1125Great big bag of vintage sewing notions–mostly lace and ribbon. Pretty!

DSC_1112Long black skirt. It’s not the jersey skirt I was hoping for, but I still like it. And it was half-off, so it only cost $2!

DSC_1113Beautiful purple sweater dress. It’s made of silk and cashmere and is so, so soft.

DSC_1126

Big silk scarf. It’s hard to tell in the picture, but it’s cream with a gray rose pattern.

DSC_0039This is the second little unicorn box I’ve found in two weeks. Maybe the start of a mini collection? So sweet and so 80s. I love it.

DSC_0046I was so excited when I found this little stationary set–because my mom had the exact same one when I was a kid! And it only cost me a dollar.

DSC_0044Just a cute little set of cards with pencil-drawn animals on them.

DSC_0043I love vintage blank books. The cream one is a household budget book with pages for tracking things like how much you spend on meat. It’s so interesting to me to see what was important to someone 50 years ago. The blue one is just a blank ledger.

DSC_0042I was on my way out of Goodwill when I saw a bag full of pretty papers in a case. Turned out to be a whole collection of 1960s and 70s wine labels from around the world. For $4? Awesome.

DSC_0040

DSC_0041A faux alligator bag with a fat little metal alligator hanging out on it? Have you ever seen anything cuter than this?

Leave a comment